Digital Literacy in Today’s World

Published January 18, 2015 by ashleymelvin34

According to dictionary.com digital literacy is the ability to find, evaluate, utilize, share and create content using information technologies and the internet. So what does that mean in normal terms? It just means that we use technologies advances that we have today to share and even find information that we need. Most time we use the internet and digital things for school but nowadays people use the internet for anything and everything. Remember when we needed to look something up, we needed to use an actual dictionary or thesaurus. We even had to look in an encyclopedia and other outlets to find the information we needed. We as a society is just as guilty outside of the classroom setting. Whenever we need something we do not hesitate to jump onto the internet to ask someone or ask google. Digital literacy seems to be the new day in age thing and it does not seem to be going anywhere. There is still many things when it comes to digital literacy that I have no idea what to do. Just like doing a blog, this is all new to many and it has taken many hours trying to figure it out for me. Even social media things are complicated. When I first signed up for Twitter I was so confused, it was nothing like Facebook. As we post on twitter it gets a little easier but I still do not understand many things. But I can guarantee if you asked the younger generation to do something on the internet or with technology they will get it faster than our generation or even our parents generation. There are many things I want to know, like how to find things quicker or use websites that have seemed to hard to understand in the past. I also want to be able to have more of a fluent understanding of everything that is digital literacy. I think everyone needs to focus a little more on digital fluency. What is that you ask? It just means understanding the content that is laid out for you. Yes of course we can read it but do we actually understand it and what it is telling us that we should know. Everyone should get with the times and understand digital literacy and even digital fluency. The one thing that might make it a struggle for us to learn it fully is that every day the internet changes and the content within it changes. We have to make sure we keep up with the changes. Some websites I have found helpful to understand maintain the information I have learned are and http://www.digitalliteracy.us and http://bit.ly/1weAfsw.

2 comments on “Digital Literacy in Today’s World

  • Really important point here about the instant availability we now have when it comes to information. Whenever I have a question, especially a question about content knowledge, I generally have a device in my pocket that’s going to give me the answer. We are living in an age of abundant information. I wonder how school needs to change to reflect that fact.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        margaretvinton

    Life is a process, not a destination. Chadron, NE

    Technology is a heck of a drug

    A simple little blog about my life

    hartleystewartblog

    This is a personal blog used for school purposes. I currently live in Wyoming and go to school full time.

    I Was a Teenage Lit Major

    the brain droppings of one Jeff McFarland

    Sadie Linville

    #diglitclass

    2015 & Digital Literacy

    ENG 361: Literacy in the Digital Age

    Morgan's Blog :)

    ENG 361- Literacy in the Digital Age

    jessicajersild

    ENG 361 Literacy in the Digital Age

    yentledyas

    Whatever pops out is not my fault. I have no filter

    Peanut Butter Theater

    All the Arts in one blog, but mostly Theatre.

    Concept & Contemplation

    a digital literacy learning journey

    Jaycie Cheatham

    It's the little things...

    A little about me

    And my experience with Digital Literacy

    My Crazy Ride!

    My adventures in life and school!

    Longreads

    The best longform stories on the web

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

