Passion-Based Learning-This is how I want to Teach!

Published February 7, 2015 by ashleymelvin34

Nowadays there are so many ways to teach. How do we know as a society which ones are best and which ones are worse? Well of course we have to run them through a trial and error. I really did not know too much about passion-based teaching but after reading the two articles I read, I want to try to teach passion-based learning within my classroom.

The article Passion Based Learning by: Ainissa Ramirez, was probably one of the best articles I have read about passion-based learning. It gave so much helpful information, I did not leave reading it confused, much like I have been when I have read other articles about teaching strategies. In this article the author talks about STEM: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math, we need to get children engaged in this program. It helps them explore what they are passionate about and what they excel at. It also helps bring the passion back into learning. If the student is excited and passionate about what they are learning about they have a better chance of walking away with a better understanding. According to the article passion drives everything, just like selling movies or even getting people to do things that excite them. We need to talk that power of passion and take the time to find out what drives the students and also let them get excited about learning something they may not have been so excited about before. The article also points out that we as teachers need to be vulnerable, and it does not mean let the students walk all over you, it means be vulnerable with still having a source of power in your court. This article breaks down everything that passion-based learning should be and how it should be taught. (http://www.edutopia.org/blog/passion-based-learning-ainissa-ramirez)

The second article I read was an interview with someone who is passionate about passion-based learning. The article Passion Based Learning for 21st Century by: Jon Norton. Mr. Norton interview Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach for the article. The main base of this article describes the transformation that needs to take place when teaching passion based learning. She knows that technology is a huge part of today’s society so why not integrate that into our teaching lessons. Lets embrace it and let it help the passion base learning. We need to get the teacher to talk less and let the students talk more. The more they communicate and express how they feel the more passionate they will get about learning. Remember when we were in kindergarten and we had that “sense of wonderment”, she thinks that we need to encourage older kids to keep that wonderment and play it into their passions that they have. In the interview she also believes that we need play to the students strengths and not their weaknesses. When playing to their strengths they get to see the passion light up and they want to keep learning like that. What I took away from the article was that we need to work at passion based learning. It will not come easy and it has to be something you need to master and make you and your students vulnerable to learning something new. (http://www.edweek.org/tm/articles/2011/04/20/interview_nussbaum-beach.html)

When I start teaching I want to at least try to start passion based learning into my classroom. I feel that if we are passionate about something then we will want to work at it more and learn more!

178865612_faeecb4c56_n

11 comments on “Passion-Based Learning-This is how I want to Teach!

  • Your second article really made a point when Sheryl Nussbaum said “Instead of thinking that I am “The Teacher”—the knowledge-giver who stands up front in total control—instead of that traditional pedagogy, we need a 21st-century vision of teaching, where there is less teacher talk and more student talk.” I believe that this is true we need to get our students involved in learning. We need to let the students have a voice in what they are learning, and how this will help them see that school not always about you need to learn this and this and this nothing else matters. That is why so many students are dropping out because they feel that no one is wanting them to succeed in what they want to do. It is always about what society/government/ community what’s them to do.

    Like

  • I agree with your points here. I also liked that these articles put the ideas of passion-based learning into an applicable format. In your second article, it says that integrating it into the classroom won’t be easy but will be worth it. I think that it would greatly benefit students today & incorporating a 21st century philosophy into the classroom is most beneficial to students today with the way the world is so rapidly evolving into a technology world. Kids need to be prepared to be creative, think on their toes, & have a passion for what they are doing. Great job here!

    Like

  • I agree that passion-based learning is vital for progressive classrooms, but I’ve recently had a bit of an issue with the whole STEM thing. I attended engineering school for my first year of college, and listening to the way people talk about STEM, you’d think it was religion. I read the first article you mention in your blog when I was doing some research on the fault in the STEM program, and, unfortunately, the only article that I could find talking about problems with STEM was they need to remove “science” from it because people with jobs in life sciences (biology, etc.) don’t make as much money as the other three categories, and, therefore, aren’t important. Coming from a future biology teacher, this kind of hurt.

    So I guess it’s up to me to tell you about the problems I’ve had in STEM, and the problem stems (lol) from the first sentence in Ms. Ramirez’s blog, about “filling the STEM pipeline until it bursts.” Not every kid wants to be in STEM! Some of the smart kids don’t either! Just because a student is a passionate learner, doesn’t mean that they want to focus STEM areas. A lot of kids like to read, write, and create, but with the current emphasis on STEM, I think a lot of them get discouraged from following their passion and get sucked into the STEM pipeline (I know I did). And when they talk about STEM, they don’t mean that they’re encouraging kids to be science and math teachers. They mean they’re only pushing engineering and other, “cutting edge” professions. Nurses and teachers and anyone else that conceivably could use these disciplines in their jobs are excluded from the STEM push, because they are not on the “cutting edge.” The motive behind STEM is how far behind America has gotten in the science and math race compared to other countries, and it’s our attempt to play catch-up. Pretty soon, the other nations are going to be producing poet laureates like crazy, and America is going to scratch STEM and pick up some arts related theme. America just needs to focus on America, and not fall in to peer pressure. America is basically an insecure eighth grader that gets picked on for not being good at math and science, and it’s like, “I’ll show them!”

    Sorry to take out my frustrations with STEM on your blog, which is really well written and interesting. I just have had an issue with STEM since I attended engineering school, and trust me, I could go on for a while. But for your sake I won’t. Again, sorry. 🙂

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        margaretvinton

    Life is a process, not a destination. Chadron, NE

    Technology is a heck of a drug

    A simple little blog about my life

    hartleystewartblog

    This is a personal blog used for school purposes. I currently live in Wyoming and go to school full time.

    I Was a Teenage Lit Major

    the brain droppings of one Jeff McFarland

    Sadie Linville

    #diglitclass

    2015 & Digital Literacy

    ENG 361: Literacy in the Digital Age

    Morgan's Blog :)

    ENG 361- Literacy in the Digital Age

    jessicajersild

    ENG 361 Literacy in the Digital Age

    yentledyas

    Whatever pops out is not my fault. I have no filter

    Peanut Butter Theater

    All the Arts in one blog, but mostly Theatre.

    Concept & Contemplation

    a digital literacy learning journey

    Jaycie Cheatham

    It's the little things...

    A little about me

    And my experience with Digital Literacy

    My Crazy Ride!

    My adventures in life and school!

    Longreads

    The best longform stories on the web

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

