Bread Pudding with Vanilla Cream Sauce!

Published February 15, 2015 by ashleymelvin34

Bread Pudding

Ingredients:

6 slices of white bread

2 tablespoons of melted butter

1/2 cup of raisins

4 eggs beaten

2 cups of milk

3/4 cups of white sugar

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of vanilla

Directions:

  • Preheat oven @350.
  • Cut the bread into little pieces and place in an 8×8 pan.
  • Drizzle melted butter over little pieces of bread. Sprinkle with the raisins.
  • In medium bowl combine eggs, milk, sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. Beat until completely mixed.
  • Pour over bread pieces and bake for 45 minutes
  • Vanilla Cream Sauce

Ingredients:

2 cups of cream

1 cup of sugar

2 tablespoons of flour

1/2 cup butter

1 teaspoon of vanilla

Directions:

  • Mix cream, sugar and flour into a small sauce pan.
  • Add butter and stir over medium heat until thickened.
  • Remove from heat and add 1 teaspoon of vanilla

This week I have stepped out of my comfort zone of cheesecakes and made a bread pudding with a vanilla cream sauce. Normally this would not be something I would even attempt to make in my house because one I do not like raisins and I always thought bread pudding was impossible to make and set just right. You always see on all those baking shows no ones bread pudding comes out. Kind of sends a fear to you when the professionals can’t even get it right. Or maybe I should stop watching those shows, no just kidding they are my favorite! My sister-in-law tried bread pudding once and fell in love. Since she knew I was embarking on this little independent baking project she asked if I would try to make one for her.

When I first started I accidentally added to much sugar so my mixture of the milk and stuff was way to sweet and I had to completely restart over. So here we go round two I used all the right amount of ingredients that was listed but I put it in the oven and forgot to set a timer. Oops, I over baked the second one. At this point I almost gave up, but I decided I was going to get it right and it was going to be great. Here we go round three, and you know that saying third time is the charm. Yep the saying was right! I used all the ingredients and measurements listed and cooked it for the right time and the bread pudding actually came out correctly. The last true test was the taste test. Well she tried it and feel in love. Guess stepping out of your comfort zone sometimes ends in failure but if you keep trying you will eventually get it right!
image

12 comments on “Bread Pudding with Vanilla Cream Sauce!

  • I love bread pudding, it is one of my favorite desserts and I just recently made a batch for my grandma’s birthday (it is her favorite dessert as well) I have always made mine with whiskey and soaked my raisins, but your recipe sounds really good I will have to try it. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  • That…sounds…delicious. And it all goes to show that out of failure comes great things! I can’t tell you how many rough drafts I’ve had to do. Despite it being my favorite color, I almost come to dread seeing the highlights on all of my re-writes. However, it leaves room for improvement, and that’s what you’ve been doing. Nicely done!

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        margaretvinton

    Life is a process, not a destination. Chadron, NE

    Technology is a heck of a drug

    A simple little blog about my life

    hartleystewartblog

    This is a personal blog used for school purposes. I currently live in Wyoming and go to school full time.

    I Was a Teenage Lit Major

    the brain droppings of one Jeff McFarland

    Sadie Linville

    #diglitclass

    2015 & Digital Literacy

    ENG 361: Literacy in the Digital Age

    Morgan's Blog :)

    ENG 361- Literacy in the Digital Age

    jessicajersild

    ENG 361 Literacy in the Digital Age

    yentledyas

    Whatever pops out is not my fault. I have no filter

    Peanut Butter Theater

    All the Arts in one blog, but mostly Theatre.

    Concept & Contemplation

    a digital literacy learning journey

    Jaycie Cheatham

    It's the little things...

    A little about me

    And my experience with Digital Literacy

    My Crazy Ride!

    My adventures in life and school!

    Longreads

    The best longform stories on the web

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

