Digital Storytelling and Podcasts-Can this be a newer way of reaching our students?

Published April 11, 2015 by ashleymelvin34

After reading the articles What Teens are Learning From “Serial” and Other Podcasts by Linda Flanagan and Teachers Guide to Digital Storytelling by Leah Levy, I realized how beneficial a podcast or digital storytelling could be within our classrooms. I guess when we have reviewed technology to use within the classroom neither of these crossed my mind nor did teacher make us read about them and research them till now. To hear the story of the students and how engage they were was amazing to hear because nowadays it is hard to keep students attention especially when they are in middle school and high school. They have almost no drive to do anything and their focus is more on the outside and reality then school work. Although I am not sure how well these things would work in an elementary school setting. I don’t know if they could understand the concept of digital storytelling but I think they would have fun listening to podcasts.

When I was in middle school I had a history teacher who used something similar to podcasts. He would reenact a war and record it. It would obviously just be his voice but here the different tones and sounds made us think that we were really there. That is something that I think students would get a kick out of. We need to make learning fun and exciting to keep their interest. I do think you could definitely do a digital storytelling for the same thing. The good thing is both of these things can be used in any subject and it leaves room for creative from you as a teacher and from the students. I think that I do want to find a way to make it work in an elementary school setting.

I have never heard of any of the podcasts that were in the articles or even the list that our teacher gave us but then again I didn’t go looking for a new way to use technology. After listening to some of them and looking through and doing my own research I actually like podcasts and I am actually going to try to find a way to fit one into one of my lessons I am a writing for another class. I like that I have so many option to use when I start teaching and ways to keep my students interested in what I am teaching.

digital storytelling

5 comments on “Digital Storytelling and Podcasts-Can this be a newer way of reaching our students?

  • I think short podcasts could easily be incorporated into the elementary classroom. They are thought-provoking and could be a great tool for a class discussion. I think the students would love something different, no matter what age.

    Like

  • I think anything that can still engage students and development yet still be entertaining is an instant winner. The war-reenacting from your history teacher is a great example! Depending on the medium / subject, digital storytelling or podcasts could better allow students to relate to people who were in those real-world situations. A textbook doesn’t do anything for empathy.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

        margaretvinton

    Life is a process, not a destination. Chadron, NE

    Technology is a heck of a drug

    A simple little blog about my life

    hartleystewartblog

    This is a personal blog used for school purposes. I currently live in Wyoming and go to school full time.

    I Was a Teenage Lit Major

    the brain droppings of one Jeff McFarland

    Sadie Linville

    #diglitclass

    2015 & Digital Literacy

    ENG 361: Literacy in the Digital Age

    Morgan's Blog :)

    ENG 361- Literacy in the Digital Age

    jessicajersild

    ENG 361 Literacy in the Digital Age

    yentledyas

    Whatever pops out is not my fault. I have no filter

    Peanut Butter Theater

    All the Arts in one blog, but mostly Theatre.

    Concept & Contemplation

    a digital literacy learning journey

    Jaycie Cheatham

    It's the little things...

    A little about me

    And my experience with Digital Literacy

    My Crazy Ride!

    My adventures in life and school!

    Longreads

    The best longform stories on the web

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

