Reflection over Independent Learning Project

Published April 23, 2015 by ashleymelvin34

This independent learning project has been an eye opener about how an independent project can be very useful in a classroom setting but has also opened my eyes up to what I can really do and venture out to do when I set my heart to it. I have learning so much about myself and learned that I can do more than I set my mind too. I never thought that I could bake some of the things that I have baked before. When I first started cooking and baking I learned everything by myself and when it came to sweets I baked things from a box. I have widen my searches and learned that I can bake things from scratch just like the carrot cake that I made. It was exciting to know that I could actually take something from nothing and make something amazing. It was so good and my entire family loved it! I also learned more about the way of having patience and learning strength that I never knew I had.

This is something that can be used in a classroom setting easily. I think that it would be really useful for higher grades such as middle and high school. I am not quite sure how it would work in an elementary school setting. Unless it was something simple that they children could do every week. When you apply it to middle school and high school it could be reading a new book every week or something that they students find interesting or limited to spark their interests. I think you could also use it in units where they get to create things that they have learned or are learning.

be yourself

I think the best part of this was getting to do something that I have wanted to do for a while but never found myself having the time to do it. When I was required to do it for a grade it gave me some incentive. Not saying that was the only good part about this but it did help put focus on something that I have wanted to do for a while. I think the most challenging part of this independent learning project was having to make time to do it every week and sticking to it. Sometimes even though my week would seem overwhelming I still made time to bake and find time for myself. I need much-needed time to myself with having a child and husband who have my attention most of the time. Definitely a well worth it experience.

One comment on “Reflection over Independent Learning Project

  • Leave a Reply

        margaretvinton

    Life is a process, not a destination. Chadron, NE

    Technology is a heck of a drug

    A simple little blog about my life

    hartleystewartblog

    This is a personal blog used for school purposes. I currently live in Wyoming and go to school full time.

    I Was a Teenage Lit Major

    the brain droppings of one Jeff McFarland

    Sadie Linville

    #diglitclass

    2015 & Digital Literacy

    ENG 361: Literacy in the Digital Age

    Morgan's Blog :)

    ENG 361- Literacy in the Digital Age

    jessicajersild

    ENG 361 Literacy in the Digital Age

    yentledyas

    Whatever pops out is not my fault. I have no filter

    Peanut Butter Theater

    All the Arts in one blog, but mostly Theatre.

    Concept & Contemplation

    a digital literacy learning journey

    Jaycie Cheatham

    It's the little things...

    A little about me

    And my experience with Digital Literacy

    My Crazy Ride!

    My adventures in life and school!

    Longreads

    The best longform stories on the web

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

