Did I become an Innovator Learner?

Published April 30, 2015 by ashleymelvin34

I honestly think that there are so many things I still need to learn before my adventure into teaching. But can we really tell if we are ready or does it always have to be a learning experience? I am pretty sure that in life it will always be a learning experience. I don’t think that I will ever fully learn everything that I need too. I think that as I start teaching there will be things that I will learn each day and it may already be something that I have learned but it may also be something that extends to something that I have learned think that this class has given me all the tools I needed to bring technology into my future classroom and make sure that every learning experience I give my students will be to the fullest! There were things that I never thought I knew how to do or that I could do but this class has given me that extra point to prove that I can do anything that I set my mind to. The daily creates and all the blogging have taught me that I like writing. I like reaching people with my word, which will come in handy when teaching because I can reach my students. I want to make sure that I can be the best teacher that I can be!

The article The Steep “Unlearning Curve” has got me thinking that there are things that I need to unlearn when I start teaching. The author quotes, “We need to unlearn the practice that teaches all students at the same pace. Is it any wonder why so many of our students love to play online games where they move forward at their own pace?”, which is so true because every student will learn at their own pace. They should not all be clumped together and expected to get the same concepts at the same times as the other students. We need to remember that every one is unique and they have their own pace of doing things. This is something I want to take in my classroom and remember.

There is also the expectation that we need to make the classroom more fun and more exciting for the student to learn and have fun while gaining all the information that they can. We need to unlearn all those ways that we were set in. We need to unlearn all the ways that we remember when we were in school. They are not for this generation of students. Here is to keep being an innovative learner!

One comment on “Did I become an Innovator Learner?

  • Leave a Reply

        margaretvinton

    Life is a process, not a destination. Chadron, NE

    Technology is a heck of a drug

    A simple little blog about my life

    hartleystewartblog

    This is a personal blog used for school purposes. I currently live in Wyoming and go to school full time.

    I Was a Teenage Lit Major

    the brain droppings of one Jeff McFarland

    Sadie Linville

    #diglitclass

    2015 & Digital Literacy

    ENG 361: Literacy in the Digital Age

    Morgan's Blog :)

    ENG 361- Literacy in the Digital Age

    jessicajersild

    ENG 361 Literacy in the Digital Age

    yentledyas

    Whatever pops out is not my fault. I have no filter

    Peanut Butter Theater

    All the Arts in one blog, but mostly Theatre.

    Concept & Contemplation

    a digital literacy learning journey

    Jaycie Cheatham

    It's the little things...

    A little about me

    And my experience with Digital Literacy

    My Crazy Ride!

    My adventures in life and school!

    Longreads

    The best longform stories on the web

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

